Innovation Alberta Featured Theme:


"The strongest, non-government, non-industry, multi-disciplinary national forestry research enterprise in Canada."

View all Program Items related to Sustainable Forest Management

The Sustainable Forest Management Network promotes cross-discipline research to help us develop a better understanding of our forests and the interconnectedness of ecological, social and economic perspectives. In the year ahead, Innovation Alberta will profile some of the leading edge research by SFMN scientists and post those stories and related information to this theme page.

Research covers many disciplines

At any given time there are 75 to 100 top level researchers working in the fields of ecology, biology, economics, policy, anthropology, and engineering. Key sector partners include Aboriginal people, government and industry. Communication between the researchers and the various players is an important component of the network model.

The following criteria is used to determine which projects will receive SFMN funding. The projects must be ones:

The Sustainable Forest Management Network operates with a $7 million dollar budget. Fifty-five percent comes from the Network of Centres of Excellence program. The remaining forty-five percent is contributed by SFMN partners.



  • Abitibi-Consolidated Inc.
  • Ainsworth Lumber Company Ltd.
  • Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc.
  • Bowater Incorporated
  • Canadian Forest Products Ltd.
  • Daishowa-Marubeni International Ltd.
  • J.D. Irving, Ltd.
  • Louisiana-Pacific Canada Ltd.
  • Tembec Inc.
  • Tolko Industries Ltd.
  • Weyerhaeuser Company


  • University of Alberta (host)
  • University of British Columbia
  • Concordia University
  • University of Calgary
  • Dalhousie University
  • University of Guelph
  • Lakehead University
  • University of Lethbridge
  • McGill University
  • University of Manitoba
  • Memorial University
  • University of New Brunswick
  • Ryerson Polytechnic University
  • Université de Moncton
  • University of Ottawa
  • Université de Montréal
  • University of Regina
  • Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
  • University of Saskatchewan
  • Université du Québec à Montréal
  • University of Toronto
  • Univesité du Québec à Rimouski
  • University of Victoria
  • Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
  • University of Waterloo
  • University of Western Ontario
  • Université de Sherbrooke
  • University of Winnipeg
  • Université Laval

First Nations

  • Gwich'in Renewable Resource Board
  • Heart Lake First Nations
  • Little Red River Cree / Tallcree First Nations
  • Moose Cree First Nation

Not for Profit

Affiliated Members

  • Canadian Forest Service
  • Forest Ecosystem Science Co-operative Inc.
  • Forest Engineering Research Institute of Canada
  • Lake Abitibi Model Forest
  • Manitoba Model Forest
  • National Aboriginal Forestry Association

For more information on specific projects, you can check out

View all Program Items related to Sustainable Forest Management